Golden Dome Award

The Golden Dome Award, is presented to an alumna whose efforts through continuous service and resultant achievement have advanced Marymount College as an institution.

2016 Recipient: Joyce Onorato Abamont, MC '66

It took her a while, but Joyce Abamont pursued her lifelong dream of following in her father's footsteps and became a lawyer. After graduating from Marymount cum laude with a bachelors in history, she earned a masters degree in European history from New York University and began teaching high school in the New York City public school system. But she never lost her desire to study law.

She first met her husband, Brian Abamont, when she was a sophomore at Marymount and he was a student at Fordham University. They were blessed with four children. When their youngest child started kindergarten, Joyce entered St. John's University School of Law, where she was a member of the Law Review and graduated with honors. A trial attorney specializing in insurance defense litigation, Joyce is now the managing attorney and director for Met Life's Long Island Counsel office, engaging in trial practice and managing a staff of lawyers and administrative personnel.

Joyce has demonstrated a deep and longstanding dedication to Marymount. Since graduation she has been actively involved in the Alumnae Association, serving as a class agent, alumnae fund chair, reunion chair, and finally president of the Alumnae Association Board during a challenging period of transition when Marymount College merged with Fordham University. In 2007, Joyce chaired Marymount's 100th anniversary celebration. She is now completing her fourth term as an Alumnae Association Board member, and she actively promotes Marymount's mission to educate women through her steadfast and generous support of the Marymount Legacy Fund.

Marymount's focus on developing women's spirituality made a big impact on Joyce's life. She has devoted many volunteer hours to her parish, St. Joseph's in Garden City, helping to strengthen the faith and spirituality of children in religious education as well as individuals preparing for marriage and baptism. For a number of years, she and Brian acted as a lead couple in presenting Marriage Encounter weekends to other married couples. Joyce is currently co-coordinator for the Rite of Christian Initiation for Adults program at St. Joseph's. The Diocese of Rockville Centre has recognized her dedication with the St. Pius X Award, and she and Brian were honored with the St. Agnes Medal for their work in their parish. Following in the leadership tradition of Marymount women, Joyce was the first woman to serve as chairperson of St. Joseph Pastoral Council and was also the first female trustee appointed in the history of the parish. She is a member of the Nassau County Bar Association Public Relations Committee and the Catholic Charities Lawyers Pro Bono Service.

Joyce lives in Garden City with her husband, Brian. In addition to their four children, the couple has three beautiful grandsons.

Past Recipients

  • 1990 Gail Healy Hilson, ‘63
    1991 Mary Goeke, ‘31
    1993 Margaret Karl Geraghty, ‘69
    1994 Caryl Donnelly Plunkett, ’63
    1995 Miriam Kelly Hunt, ’50 
    1996 Patricia Crean McGill, ’68
    1997 Cristina Ramos Toosie, ’52
    1998 Carolyn Nannini Dolan, ’68
    1999 Anne Slattery, ’69
    2000 Jane Williams Rosenthal, ‘46
    2001 Angela Reed, ‘71
    2002 Mary Cay Bartush Jones, ‘52
    2003 Ann Lauenstein McLaughlin Korologos, ‘63
    2004 Laura Koessler Brosnahan, ‘64
    2005 Marybeth Anzich Mahoney, ‘70
  • 2006 Eugenie Fleri Doyle, M.D., ’64
    2007 Margaret Fitzgibbon Watson, ’72
    2008 Maria Somary Twaalfhoven, ’53
    2009 Constance Chan, ’62
    2010 Patricia Cotter,  J.D., ’75
    2011 Helene Tanous, M.D., ’61
    2012 Diane Kollar Monticone, Ph.D.,  ‘62
    2013 Maria Healy, ’78
    2014 Joan Chapman Cooney, ’44
    2015 Kathleen “Kay” Delaney-Bring, ’60
    2016 Joyce Onorato Abamont,  J.D., ’66