Gloria Gaines Memorial Award

The Gloria Gaines Memorial Award, the highest alumna honor, is given to an alumna for service to one's church, community, and the College.

2017 Recipient: Lorraine Capuano, MC '67, GSAS '79

A strategic organization development consultant, talent development professional, and executive coach, Lorraine Capuano has spent more than 20 years working with individuals, coaching entire teams, and supporting managers moving into new and increased areas of responsibility. She is the founder and managing principal of the Organization Effectiveness Group, LLC, where she has worked on everything from organizational assessments, competency modeling, and performance management partnerships to mentoring and on-boarding programs, off-site meetings, and women’s career and leadership programs.

Lorraine’s clients include large complex global corporate environments in the United States, Asia, Europe, and South America, as well as smaller companies and e-commerce ventures. Her consulting experience over the last 16 years has spanned large and small organizations, nonprofits, corporate environments, professional service firms, and government agencies.

She is a skilled trainer and facilitator and regularly leads seminars for the American Management Association’s executive level programs. She is also an adjunct faculty member for NYU Stern’s graduate business programs and at Cornell University. Lorraine started her career teaching elementary school and worked in higher education for eight years. She was the director of Career Counseling and Placement at Mercy College in Dobbs Ferry, New York, and was pleased to have the opportunity to work at her own undergraduate alma mater, Marymount College, from 1974 to 1979. There she had dual responsibilities in the offices of Career Counseling Placement and Alumnae Relations. Besides a bachelor’s degree from Marymount College, Lorraine also earned a master’s from Manhattan College and a doctorate from Fordham University.
Outside of work, Lorraine is an active member of the Church of St. Ignatius Loyola in Manhattan and has been involved in recent efforts to stop trafficking in the metro New York area. Previously, as a member of the Junior League of New York, she was also involved in rape crisis counseling. She is a former board member of the New York Human Resource Planning Society and has served on the Conference Board’s Council on Training and Development. She was recently appointed to the Board of Directors of THRIVE, a nonprofit founded by Jesuits, which provides life skills training and family support to incarcerated and formerly incarcerated people in the metro New York area.

2017 Recipient: Sarah Phillips Sullivan, MC '97

As the daughter of alumna Marianna “Annie” Dwyer Phillips, MC ’67, Sarah Phillips Sullivan understood from a young age the value of a Marymount education and the importance of service to church, community, and college. Once at Marymount, Sarah served as her class’ president, a campus ambassador, and an active participant in all Marymount offered. Since graduating, Sarah has been an active supporter of the college and its alumnae. She served as vice president of the Marymount Alumnae Board for two terms.

Sarah began her career at General Electric Capital Corporation, where she started as an intern during her sophomore year at Marymount. After three years working at GE full time, the company sponsored Sarah as she pursued her education at Cornell University, where she earned a master’s in industrial and labor relations. She then joined the National Broadcasting Company, a General Electric company, as the director of human resources for technology. She later taught business courses for adults pursuing bachelor’s degrees on an accelerated basis at Concordia College. Sarah now serves as the people operations leader for r4 Technologies in Ridgefield, Connecticut.
Sarah taught third grade religious education at Transfiguration Parish in Tarrytown during her Marymount years, and later continued as a third grade catechist at Saint Brigid of Ireland Parish in Stamford, Connecticut. An active member and local volunteer of Saint Mary Parish in Ridgefield for more than a decade, Sarah has served as the Mother’s Club president and as a board member of Saint Mary School. She currently serves on the boards of two Ridgefield public schools and the Town Council of Parent-Teacher Associations. An active philanthropist, Sarah also serves on fundraising committees for the Molly Ann Tango Foundation, the Boys and Girls Club of Ridgefield, and the Princess Ball Charities.

Sarah and her husband, Terence, have been married for more than 15 years. He is a former GE colleague and a Fordham alumnus. They live in Ridgefield, Connecticut, with their three children: Christopher, Charles, and Kathleen.

Past Recipients

1961 Irene Brogan O’Connell, ’34
1962 Marion Patterson Gaynor, ’34
1963 Anne Fitzgerald, ’52
1964 Irene Wilson Baker, 34
1965 Helen Dwyer Kelleher, ’24
1966 Loyola Weeks Keating, ’40
1967 Elizabeth Lynch Morris, ’16
1968 Linda Reynolds Carroll, ’58
1969 Aileen Kelleher Fogarty, ’13
1970 Marion Hanrehan Dolan, ’24
1971 Jane McGeeney Haugh, ’60
1972 Mary Rita Byrne, ’35
1973 Betty Morris O’Connor, ’46
1974 Marie Wallace Powers, ’54
1975 Claire Rich, ’61
1976 Elaine Jantzen Sydnor, ’46
1977 Vincenza Ruggero Cullen, ’54
1978 Anne Bach Lawler, ’63
1979 Margaret Karl Geraghty, ’69
1980 Mary Heller Dixon, ’60
1981 Orry Kelly Costello, ’51
1982 Mary Lawler Loftus, ’57
1983 Caryl  Donnelly Plunkett, ’63
1984 Hortensia Liceaga Falcon, ’54
1985 Mary Bruns Schaub, ’45
1986 Mary Catherine Ix Gaynor, ’46
1987 Gina Pesanelli Drew, ’58
1988 Eugenie Fleri Doyle, M.D., ’43
1989 Susan Robinson King, 69

  • 1990 Mary-Elizabeth Fahy, ’68
    1991 Audrey Kathleen Gallucci, Ph.D.,’49
    1992 Eileen Santangello Hult, ’67
    1993 Jane Harris Feakins, ’43
    1994 Catherine Mitchell Beltz, ’54
    1995 Margo White Doran, ’75
    1996 Alice Frauenheim Foley, ’41
    1997 Maureen Wilson Saab, ’62
    1998 Rosemary McCabe Travis, ’63
    1999 Brigid Driscoll, R.S.H.M., Ph.D.
    2000 Margaret Kelly McMahon, ‘50
    2001 Elaine Violyn Luzine, ‘56
    2002 Patricia Mahoney Dempsey, ‘77
    2003 Gladys Ferguson Gress, Ed. D.,  ‘78
    2004 Margaret Smedley,  Ph.D., ’59
    2005 Religious of the Sacred Heart of Mary
    2006 Joyce Onorato Abamont, J.D., ’66
    2007 Helen J. Kelly, ’63
    2008 Beatrice Smith Dinger, ‘63
    2009 Patricia Cole, ’74
    2010 Ellen Marie Keane, R.S.H.M., Ph.D., ’60
    2011 Rita O’Shaughnessy Arno, ‘91
    2012 Margaret Ellen Flannelly, R.S.H.M., Ph.D., ’57
    2013 Kate Gilmartin Duggan, ‘63
    2014 Anne M. Slattery, ‘69
    2015 Mary J. Donohue, ‘79
    2016 Jane Bartnett, ’76