Gloria Gaines Memorial Award

The Gloria Gaines Memorial Award, the highest alumna honor, is given to an alumna for service to one's church, community, and the College.

2014 Recipient: Anne Slattery, MC '69

Anne Slattery served as president of Marymount College from 1999 to 2001. Slattery was appointed president by the Marymount Board of Trustees, when Sister Brigid Driscoll stepped down after 20 years as president (1979-1999). While president, Slattery initiated a strategic assessment of the college, which resulted in several significant changes, including the restoration and rededication of the Butler Dome, and ultimately, the decision to consolidate with Fordham University. Slattery led the institution through the consolidation process and worked very closely with Joseph A. O'Hare, S.J., president emeritus of Fordham, to ensure the preservation of Marymount's deep and rich history and its enduring values.

"I am deeply honored to receive the Gloria Gaines Memorial Award and to have been selected to serve as Marymount's president. My time as Marymount's president and as a member of the Marymount Board came during a critical point in our alma mater's history. They were challenging, but rewarding days. Marymount's legend lives on through all of her alumnae," said Slattery.

"I am proud that we are an important and thriving part of the Fordham University community. Fordham's support for Marymount's Alumnae Association is a testament to the strong ties that Marymount and Fordham as well as the R.S.H.M. and the Jesuit community share."

After her tenure as Marymount's ninth president, Slattery became executive vice president of Retail Banking of Webster Bank, N.A., and executive vice president of Webster Financial Corporation. At Webster, she was responsible for the bank's retail, small business, and investment services. Earlier in her career, Slattery held positions at the former Fleet Financial and Citibank. She also headed her own manufacturing company in Connecticut.

Currently, Slattery serves as a board member for several nonprofits focusing on children, including the Cove Center for Grieving Children, the Gift of Adoption, and Carolyn's Place. She was previously a board member for the Seabury Society for Preservation of the Glebe House.

Slattery joined the Connecticut Community Foundation Board of Trustees in 2011 and has been involved with several committees including investment, outreach/development, and women's fund.

Past Recipients

  • Joyce Onorato Abamont, J.D., '66
  • Rita Arno, '91
  • Irene Wilson Baker, '34
  • Catherine Mitchell Beltz, '54
  • Mary Rita Byrne, '35
  • Linda Reynolds Carroll, '58
  • Patricia Cole, '74
  • Orry Kelly Costello, '51
  • Vincenza Ruggero Cullen, '54
  • Patricia Mahoney Dempsey, '77
  • Beatrice Smith Dinger, '63
  • Mary Heller Dixon, '60
  • Marion Hanrehan Dolan, '24
  • Margo White Doran, '75
  • Eugenie Fleri Doyle, M.D., '43
  • Gina Pesanelli Drew, '58
  • Brigid Driscoll, R.S.H.M.
  • Kathryn (Kate) Gilmartin Duggan, '63
  • Mary-Elizabeth Fahy, '60
  • Hortensia Liceaga Falcon, '54
  • Jane Harris Feakins, '43
  • Anne M. Fitzgerald, '52
  • Sr. Margaret Ellen Flannelly, R.S.H.M., MC '57
  • Aileen Kelleher Fogarty, '13
  • Alice Fraunheim Foley, '41
  • Audrey Gallucci, Ph.D., '49
  • Marion Patterson Gaynor, '34
  • Mary Catherine Ix Gaynor, '46
  • Margaret Karl Geraghty, '69
  • Gladys Ferguson Gress, Ed.D., '78
  • Jane McGeeney Haugh, '60
  • Eileen Santangelo Hult, '67
  • Ellen Marie Keane, R.S.H.M., '60
  • Loyola Weeks Keating, '40
  • Helen Dwyer Kelleher, '24
  • Susan Robinson King, '69
  • Anne Bach Lawler, '63
  • Mary Lawler Loftus, '57
  • Elaine Violyn Luzine, '56
  • Margaret Kelly McMahon, '50
  • Elizabeth Lynch Morris, '16
  • Irene Brogan O'Connell, '34
  • Betsy Morris O'Connor, '46
  • Caryl Donnelly Plunkett, '63
  • Marie Wallace Powers, '54
  • Religious of the Sacred Heart of Mary
  • Clare Rich, '61
  • Maureen Wilson Saab, '62
  • Mary Bruns Schaub, '45
  • Margaret Smedley, Ph.D., '59
  • Elaine Jantzen Sydnor, '46
  • Rosemary McCabe Travis, '63